Newsies Chorus Honored

The chorus of Newsies

The chorus of Newsies has won Equity’s sixth annual ACCA Award for Outstanding Broadway Chorus. The winners, all members of the Broadway musical’s March 29 opening night, are Aaron Albano, Mark Aldrich, Tommy Bracco, John E. Brady, Ryan Breslin, Kevin Carolan, Caitlyn Caughell, Kyle Coffman, Mike Faist, Michael Fatica, Julie Foldesi, Garett Hawe, Thayne Jasperson, Evan Kasprzak, Jess LeProtto, Stuart Marland, Andy Richardson, Jack Scott, Ryan Steele, Brendon Stimson, Nick Sullivan, Ephraim M. Sykes, Laurie Veldheer, Alex Wong and Stuart Zagnit.

“This award acknowledges and honors the enormous talent and contributions members of a chorus make to a Broadway production,” said ACCA chair Rebecca Kim Jordon in a statement. “The chorus members of Newsies are gifted professionals who exemplify the hard work, dedication and talent it takes to be outstanding in a Broadway musical.”

In reviewing the chorus of each Broadway production, the ACCA considers the requirements made on each chorus by the director, choreographer, and musical director as well as the caliber of technical skill used to execute those requirements and the contributions made by the entire chorus to the overall production. Past recipients include the choruses of Legally Blonde (2007), In the Heights (2008), West Side Story (2009), Fela! (2010), and The Scottsboro Boys (2011).

This entry was posted in Awards, Stage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>