Broadway Theater Hall of Fame

On Monday, Jan. 28, Tony-winning actor Tyne Daly (Gypsy) will host the Theater Hall of Fame’s 2012 Gala Induction and Dinner at the Gershwin Theatre, where the plaques of the inductees will be hung. This year’s class includes artistic directors André Bishop (at Lincoln Center when they produced the Tony-winning Contact and revivals of South Pacific and Carousel, and at Playwrights Horizons when they produced the Pulitzer winner Sunday in the Park with George), Michael Kahn (from DC’s Shakespeare Theatre, who received a Tony nom for directing the 1983 Houston Grand Opera revival of Show Boat) and Trevor Nunn (at the RSC when he received Tonys for directing Cats and Les Misérables).

Other musical theater inductees include the late Martin Pakledinaz (best known for his Tony-winning costume designs for Thoroughly Modern Millie and the 1999 revival of Kiss Me, Kate) and actor Betty Buckley (Tony winner for Cats). Actor Sam Waterston and playwrights Christopher Durang and Paula Vogel round out this year’s roster of honorees.

This entry was posted in Awards, Stage and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>