2012 Awards Update

The New York Drama Critics’ Circle met yesterday at the offices of Time Out New York, to determine the winners of its 77th annual awards. In the vote for Best Musical, Once lost by a hair on the first ballot (with 12 votes out of 25) before winning by a decisive margin on the third ballot. The awards will be presented at a private ceremony at Angus McIndoe Restaurant on May 14.

Liza Minnelli

The nominees for the 2012 Fred & Adele Astaire Awards have also been announced. Newsies leads the field with seven nominations: Christopher Gattelli for Outstanding Choreographer, Kara Lindsay for Outstanding Female Dancer, and Jeremy Jordan, Ryan Breslin, Thayne Jasperson, Ryan Steele, and Ephraim Sykes all vying for Outstanding Male Dancer on Broadway.

Evita is next with five: choreographer Rob Ashford and dancers Ricky Martin, Elena Roger, Ashley Amber, and Bahiyah Hibah. Nice Work garnered four: choreographer Kathleen Marshall and dancers Matthew Broderick, Robert Hartwell, and Kelli O’Hara.

Other multiple nominees include Leap of Faith (choreographer Sergio Trujillo and dancers Krystal Joy Brown and Leslie Odom Jr., Follies (dancers Jan Maxwell and Danny Burstein), Lysistrata Jones (dancers Jason Tam and Patti Murin), and Porgy and Bess (choreographer Ron Brown and dancer Lisa Nicole Wilkerson). Single nominations went to choreographer Steve Hoggett for Once and performer Hugh Jackman for Back on Broadway.

The winners will be announced during the ceremony at NYU’s Skirball Center on June 4, when Liza Minnelli will be honored with the Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award.

This entry was posted in Awards, Stage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>